MathFest 2018 Jeopardy Round

This year's Undergraduate Math Jeopardy Event at MathFest drew a large crowd with standing room only. Contestants submitted entry forms and sixteen names were drawn to field four teams (of four contestants each) for the four houses of Hogwarts (re: Harry Potter). Michael W. Berry (Tennessee) emceed the event and Robert Vallin (Lamar University) organized this special event and drew the names of the contestants. The most impressive performance was made by the Ravenclaw team closely followed by the Slytherin team. The roster of participants and a group photo are provided below.

House	Name	Class (Sr, Jr, So, Fr)	Major(s)	Credits
Godric Gryffindor				Writers: John Cummings (Berry)
1.	Jonathan Coffin (Saint John's)	Sr	Math and Econ	Jeffrey Powell (Samford)
2.	Luan Huffman (Oregon State)	Sr	Math and Chemistry	Ron Taylor (Berry)
3.	Jenna Moscaritolo (Tampa)	Jr	Math	Brian Wagner (UT Martin)
4.	Ben Watzok (Texas A&M)	Jr	Applied Math	MAA Support: Max O'Hern
				Organizer: Robert Valin (Lamar)
Helga Hufflepuff				MAA Support: Max O'Hern
1.	Michael Allen (Utah)	Sr	Material Science	
2.	David Diaz (Southern CT)	Sr	Math	
3.	Xuming Liang (Harvey Mudd)	Jr	Math	
4.	Sarah Wright (McDaniel)	Sr	Math and CS	
Rowena Ravenclaw				
1.	Robert Lehr (Southwestern)	Sr	Math	
2.	Nick McDonald (Clarkson)	Jr	Math	
3.	Rory O'Dwyer (Texas A&M)	Jr	Math and Physics	
4.	Carl Schildkraut (Lakeside)	Sr	High School	
Salazar Slytherin				
1.	Franquiz Caraballo (SUNY Plattsburgh)	Sr	Math and Physics	
2.	Katie Johnston (CalTech)	Sr	Applied Math	
3.	Connor McCranie (CU Boulder)	Sr	Math	
4.	Brandon Pepa (Harper)	Jr	Mech Engineering	

