MathFest 2011 Jeopardy Hyatt Regency Hotel, Lexington, KY August 3, 2011

The four teams that competed in MathFest 2011 Jeopardy were Grand Valley State REU (Allendale, MI), St. Norbert College (De Pere, WI), UNC-Asheville REU (Asheville, NC), and Winona State University (Winona, MN). The team memberships were:

- Grand Valley: Clark Bowan, Neil DeBoer, Daniel Hast, and AnnaVictoria Ellsworth
- St. Norbert: Caesar Cai, Nicole Harp, Brian Pietsch, and Abby Wendricks
- UNC-Asheville: Michaela Stone, Tony Nguyen, Greg Ferrin, and Spencer Brooks
- Winona State: Megan Reiner, Sam Helmich, Jarrett Pung, and Jennifer Herdan

The round was quite competitive with Grand Valley State REU taking a commanding lead after the completion of two categories (there were only four categories in the board). The scores prior to Final Jeopardy were Grand Valley State REU (6000), St. Norbert College (500), UNC-Asheville REU (900), and Winona State (700). The Final Jeopardy question was answered correctly by Grand Valley State REU and St. Norbert College. With wagers of 4000 by Grand Valley State REU and 499 by St. Norbert College, the team from Grand Valley State REU took first place with 10000 total points and St. Norbert College took second place with 999 points. UNC-Asheville REU finished in third place with 400 points and Winona State finish in fourth place with 4 points.

Faculty volunteers for the round were: scorekeeper – Lyn Miller (Slippery Rock); judge – Frank Morgan (Williams College), and timekeeper – George Yates (Youngstown State).

Special thanks to Robert Vallin (Slippery Rock) and the MAA for their support of this student activity, and to Mike Mossinghoff (Davidson), Ron Taylor (Berry), Jeffrey Powell (Samford), and Brian Wagner (Tennessee-Martin) for providing/organizing the answers/questions for the round.



Summary by Michael W. Berry (emcee), Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.