MathFest 210 Jeopardy Omni William Penn Hotel, Pittsburgh, PA August 4, 2010

The four teams that competed in MathFest 2010 Jeopardy were Augsburg College (Minneapolis MN), Lafayette College (Easton, PA), Hope College (Holland, MI) and Williams College SMALL Project (Williamstown, MA). The team memberships were:

- Augsburg: Jeremy Anthony, Jazmine Darden, Nghiep Huynh, Nawa Owusu
- Lafayette: Hannah Alpert, Jenny Iglesias, Julie Michelman, Micah Pearce
- **Hope**: Jessalyn Bolkema, David Gansen, Nathan Graber, Robert Nash
- **SMALL**: Yifei Li, Michael Mata, Isamar Rosa Plata, Elena Wikner

Lafayette College was a last minute substitute for the Denison University team that could not make it to the contest. The Lafayette team dominated the round but Hope College did make a late run in the Linear Algebra category prior to the Final Jeopardy question. The scores prior to Final Jeopardy were Lafayette (5900), Hope (3900), Augsburg (600), and SMALL (-800). The Final Jeopardy question was answered correctly by Lafayette and SMALL. With wagers of 1999 by Lafayette and 2699 by Hope, the team from Lafayette took first place with 7899 total points and Hope took second place with 1201 points. Augsburg finished in third place with 100 points and SMALL finish in fourth place.

Faculty volunteers for the round were: scorekeeper – John Travis (Mississippi College); judge – Lyn Miller (Slippery Rock), and timekeeper – Sue Geller (Texas A&M).

Special thanks to Robert Vallin (MAA) and the MAA for their support of this student activity, and to Mike Mossinghoff (Davidson), Ron Taylor (Berry), Jeffrey Powell (Samford), and Brian Wagner (Tennessee-Martin) for providing the answers/questions for the round.



Summary by Michael W. Berry (emcee), Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.