

A record thirty-four collegiate teams from the southeastern United States and Ontario, Canada competed in the MAA SE-2012 Math Jeopardy Contest on March 9-10, 2012 at Clayton State University in Morrow, GA. Teams that participated in the first 40-minute preliminary round included: Davidson College (Davidson, NC), Georgia Southern (Statesboro, GA), Rabun Gap High School (Rabun, GA), Nipissing University (North Bay, Ontario Canada), Augusta State University (Augusta, GA), University of Tennessee-Martin (Martin, TN), Lagrange College (Lagrange, GA), Clayton State University (Morrow, GA), Birmingham Southern, (Birmingham, AL), Berry College (Rome, GA), Furman University (Greenville, SC), The Citadel (Charleston, SC), Austin-Peay State University (Clarksville, TN), Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL), King College (Bristol, TN), Agnes Scott College (Atlanta, GA), Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN), Southern Polytechnic State University (Marietta, GA), Columbus State University (Columbus, GA), (East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN) Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC), Tusculum College (Greeneville, TN), Lenoir Rhyne University (Hickory, NC), Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, GA), University of South Carolina (Columbia, SC), University of North Carolina at Asheville (Asheville, NC), High Point University (High Point, NC), Wofford College (Spartanburg, SC), Savannah State University (Savannah, GA), Western Carolina (Cullowhee, NC) and Georgia College and State University (Milledgeville, GA). Michael W. Berry (Tennessee), Tim Chartier (Davidson), and Brian O'Connor (Tennessee Tech) were the moderators for the preliminary rounds held in the Harry S. Downs Center for Continuing Education at Clayton State University. As with the previous year, a second preliminary round was added to the contest so that 12 teams advanced from the first preliminary round. Winners from each of the Preliminary Round II sessions and the overall top scoring second place team from that round advanced to the final four.

The final four for the 2012 MAA-SE Math Jeopardy Contest were:

South Carolina, Mike Mossinghoff (sponsor), Richard Voepel, Reid Harris, Reggie Bain, Connor Bain.

Berry College, Ron Taylor (sponsor), Austin Gardnar, Terry Henderson, Aaron Ostrander, Milo Taylor

Birmingham Southern, Anne Yust (sponsor), Edward Faig, T.R. Geng, Steven Carter

Georgia Southern, Jichua Zhu and Hua Wang (sponsors), Anthony Coggins, William Trott, Yen Le, Dongrub Lee

The exciting final round had a few lead changes with the Birmingham Southern team took a commanding lead half way through the round. After the Final Jeopardy question, on series expansion, Birmingham Southern took first place (3,500 points) and Berry College took second place (1,4,29 points). Georgia Southern and South finished third and fourth, respectively.



Final Four from MAASE-2012 Math Jeopardy at Clayton State University on March 10, 2012.