

A record thirty-two collegiate teams competed in the MAA SE-2011 Math Jeopardy Contest on April 1-2, 2011 at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, AL. Teams that participated in the first 40-minute preliminary round included: Davidson College (Davidson, NC), Georgia Southern (Statesboro, GA), University of Tennessee-Martin (Martin, TN), Birmingham Southern, (Birmingham, AL), Bennett College (Greensboro, NC), Berry College (Rome, GA), Furman University (Greenville, SC), Wesleyan College (Macon, GA), The Citadel (Charleston, SC), Austin-Peay State University (Clarksville, TN), Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL), King College (Bristol, TN), Agnes Scott College (Atlanta, GA), Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN), Southern Polytechnic State University (Marietta, GA), Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC), Christian Brothers University (Memphis, TN), Winthrop University (Rock Hill, SC), Cumberland University (Lebanon, TN), Lenoir Rhyne University (Hickory, NC), Clemson University (Clemson, SC), University of South Carolina (Columbia, SC), University of North Carolina at Asheville (Asheville, NC), Fort Valley State University (Fort Valley, GA), High Point University (High Point, NC), Savannah State University (Savannah, GA), and Georgia College and State University (Milledgeville, GA). Michael W. berry (Tennessee), Charles Collins (Tennessee), and Brian O'Connor (Tennessee Tech) were the moderators for the preliminary rounds held in the Bryant Center at the University of Alabama. This year a second preliminary round was added to the contest so that 12 teams advanced from the first preliminary round. Winners from each of the Preliminary Round II sessions and the overall p scoring second place team from that round advanced to the final four.

The final four for the 2011 MAA-SE Math Jeopardy Contest were:

**Agnes Scott College**, Myrtle Lewin (sponsor), Chrissy Franzel, Chan Jin, Rose Psalmond, Shan Shan

**Berry College**, Ron Taylor (sponsor), Kylie Berry, Terry Henderson, Aaron Ostrander, Milo Taylor

**Birmingham Southern**, Luis Anne Yust (sponsor), Tianran Geng, Mike Stonewall, Steven Carter, Nino YuTiamco

Georgia College and State University, Rodica Cazacu (sponsor), Rujeko Chinomona, Steven Gross, Hilary Rogers, Lauren Tripi

The exciting final round had several lead changes with the top three places undetermined before the Final Jeopardy question. The judges revisited a previous answer to a 1000-point question from the Berry College team and determined that their response was an equivalent solution. After the Final Jeopardy question, Berry College took first place (1,400 points) and Georgia College and State University took second place (1,000 points). Birmingham Southern and Agnes Scott College finished third and fourth, respectively.



Final Four from MAASE-2011 Math Jeopardy at the University of Alabama on April 2, 2011.