

A record thirty-one schools competed in the MAA SE-2010 Math Jeopardy Contest on March 26-27, 2010 at Elon University in Elon, NC. Teams that participated in 50-minute preliminary rounds included: Davidson College (Davidson, NC), Georgia Southern (Statesboro, GA), University of Tennessee-Martin (Martin, TN), Berry College, (Mount Berry, GA), Bennett College (Greensboro, NC), Furman University (Greenville, SC), Belmont University (Nashville, TN), Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC), The Citadel (Charleston, SC), Augusta State, (Augusta, GA), Austin-Peay State University (Clarksville, TN), Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL), Wofford College (Spartanburg, SC), King College (Bristol, TN), Agnes Scott College (Atlanta, GA), Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN), Southern Polytechnic State University (Marietta, GA), Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC), LaGrange College (LaGrange, GA), Cumberland University (Lebanon, TN), Lenoir Rhyne University (Hickory, NC), Clemson University (Clemson, SC), University of South Carolina (Columbia, SC), Wake Forest University (Winston-Salem, NC), University of North Carolina at Asheville (Asheville, NC), Fort Valley State University (Fort Valley, GA), High Point University (High Point, NC), Methodist University (Fayetteville, NC), Savannah State University (Savannah, GA), Catawba College (Salisbury, NC), and Gardner-Webb University (Boiling Springs, SC). Markus Iturriaga Woelfel and Michael W. Berry from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville were the moderators for the eight (two sets of four rounds run in parallel) preliminary rounds held in Moseley Center at Elon University. This was the largest number of teams competing in Math Jeopardy in the eight-year history of the event.

The top seeded schools in the final round were:

Fort Valley State University (8,500 points in preliminary round); Samuel Cartwright (sponsor) Jamie Clark, Mario McGregor, Ashley Norris, Niraj Yadav

Auburn University at Montgomery (7,400 points in the preliminary round); Luis Cueva-Parra (sponsor) Mark Guest, Vicent Heningburg, Pratik Patel

University of South Carolina (6,700 points in the preliminary round); Mike Mossinghoff (sponsor) Harper Hudson, Jim Manning, Joey Montoya, Luke Whiteside

Davidson College (6,600 points in the preliminary round); Mike Mossinghoff (sponsor) Ben Altman, Shashank Suresh, Colin Thomson, Mali Zhang

The final round was initially dominated by the team from South Carolina and Fort Valley State came on strong midway through the round. The final jeopardy question proved to be quite exciting as three of the teams answered correctly and Fort Valley (second place) came within 100 points of surpassing the lead of South Carolina (first place). Auburn at Montgomery and Davidson took third and fourth place, respectively.



Final Four from MAASE-2010 Math Jeopardy at Elon University (Elon, NC) on March 27, 2010.