

A record twenty-two schools competed in the MAA SE-09 Math Jeopardy Contest on March 13-14, 2009 at Belmont University in Nashville, TN. Teams that participated in 60-minute preliminary rounds included: Davidson College (Davidson, NC), two teams from Georgia Southern (Statesboro, GA), University of Tennessee-Martin (Martin, TN), Berry College, (Mount Berry, GA), Bennett College (Greensboro, NC), Furman University (Greenville, SC), two teams from Belmont University (Nashville, TN), Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC), The Citadel (Charleston, SC), Augusta State, (Augusta, GA), Austin-Peay State University (Clarksville, TN), Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL), Wofford College (Spartanburg, SC), King College (Bristol, TN), Armstrong Atlantic State University (Savannah, GA), Agnes Scott College (Atlanta, GA), Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN), Southern Polytechnic State University (Marietta, GA), Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC), LaGrange College (LaGrange, GA), Cumberland University (Lebanon, TN), and Lenoir Rhyne University (Hickory, NC). Markus Iturriaga Woelfel and Michael W. Berry from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville were the moderators for the six (two sets of three rounds run in parallel) preliminary rounds held in the Massey Business Center at Belmont University. Thanks to the gracious support of the MAA, an additional buzzer system was purchased this year to accommodate the twenty-four teams. In the future, as many as thirty-two teams will be able to compete in Math Jeopardy.

The top seeded schools in the final round were:

Austin Peay State University (5,300 points in preliminary round); Yuriy Bulka (sponsor) Jonathan Fisher, Casey McKnight, Michael Northington, Emily Stone

Lenoir-Rhyne University (3,300 points in the preliminary round); Doug Burkholder (sponsor) Andy Tailan, Katie Novacek, Kevin Hathcock, Madison Shope

The Citadel (3,100 points in the preliminary round); Mei Chen (sponsor) Tao-Hsiang Chang, Tso-Chun Meng, Chonmanart Ngampeerapong, Joshua Zimmer

Belmont University 1 (2,600 points in the preliminary round); Sarah Ann Stewart (sponsor) Amy Valentine, Catherine Simpson, Hank Carter, Neil Kowalewski

The final round was dominated by the team from Austin Peay State University (scoring 2,700 total points). They correctly answered nearly every question in the categories related to discrete math and calculus. Belmont University was a distant second during most of the round and The Citadel and Lenoir-Rhyne finished third and fourth, respectively.



Final Four from MAASE-09 Math Jeopardy at Belmont University (Nashville, TN) on March 14, 2009.



Final Jeopardy question



Austin Peay (First Place)



Belmont (Second Place)



The Citadel (Third Place)



Lenoir Rhyne (Fourth Place)



Michael W. Berry (Moderator)